Diagram of infected and inflamed pulp tissue
Dr Tom Iwanowski during an exam

Services Offered by Dr Tom Iwanowski Endodontics clinic of Gatineau

Endodontic Expertise

Before any treatment is rendered, an accurate diagnosis of the problem must be made. In his 20 years of endodontic experience Tom Iwanowski understands that along with a detailed clinical examination, a detailed patient interview is of utmost importance. Diagnoses can often be made by interviewing patients and listening to their chief complaints. Here is a list of the services available at Dr Iwanowski’s clinic in Gatineau:


Services

  • Root canal treatment
  • Canal retreatment
  • Surgery
  • Control radiography (free follow-up)


Root Canal Treatments

Root Canal treatments are probably the most poorly understood of all dental treatments and often the most feared.


First of all root canal treatments are not painful if proper anaesthesia and proper clinical techniques are used.


Dr Iwanowski will provide effective and profound local anaesthesia to perform the treatment without any pain. Also he will ensure that the treatment is done expertly and quickly. Nobody wants to stay in a dental chair for too long.


Root canal treatments are highly effective in conserving your natural teeth. However as with any medical or dental procedure a good result requires that the treatment be done properly.


What Is A Root Canal?

Inside every tooth is a space that contains the pulp tissues (nerves) of the tooth. This space is called the root canal space. The number of spaces or canals vary with the type of tooth. Front teeth usually have one or two canals and back teeth may have three, four or five.


What Is A Tooth Nerve?

The soft tissues inside the root canal spaces are called Dental Pulp Tissues. They are also called the Nerves of the teeth. Along with nerves there are also blood vessels and connective tissues. These nerves are essential in the formation of the developing tooth. If these root canal spaces and the pulp tissues become contaminated with bacteria from saliva inflammation, infection and pain can develop. Bacteria can enter into these spaces via cavities, leaks in fillings or cracks in teeth.


What Is A Root Canal Treatment?

A root canal treatment is a treatment in which the root canal spaces of a tooth are cleaned, disinfected and filled. The infected or inflamed pulp tissues are removed during this process. This treatment is highly effective and if followed up with a proper dental filling or crown the tooth can remain comfortable and functional for many years.


Why Do I a Need Root Canal Specialist (Endodontist)?

Although the concept of cleaning, disinfecting and filling the root canal spaces of a tooth seems to be simple, in actual fact the internal anatomy of teeth may be extremely complicated and therefore the treatment may be very difficult. As an endodontist Dr. Iwanowski has a specific skill set that he has developed over many years of practice that allows him to do even the most complicated root canal treatments with relative ease. Imagine a skilled tradesperson who specializes in installing dry wall. Chances are that with years of experience this person will become very competent at his work. Most people that attempt such work on occasion, even if they are well equipped will probably not be able to achieve the same results as the specialist.


What Is A Root Canal Retreatment?

Root canal treatments although highly successful may sometimes fail. Failure usually means that there is an infection still present. This may managed by redoing a previously done root canal treatment.


In general this treatment is recommended if the tooth in question is serviceable and can support a good restoration afterwards.


Essentially the old root canal filling and any posts within the tooth are removed. Any deficiencies in the previous treatment are corrected and the tooth is again cleaned, disinfected and filled.


Your dentist will then decide on the appropriate type of restoration (filling or crown) that you will require.


What Is Periapical Surgery (Apicoectomy)?

In some cases an infection may occur that cannot be treated with root canal retreatment. In these cases an infection may be managed with a minor dental surgery called Apicoectomy. Essentially this means removal of the apex or tip of the root which is the cause of the infection. A filling called a retrograde filling is usually placed in the tip of the root. This procedure requires an incision in the gums adjacent to the tooth. Healing is generally uneventful and most people return to work the next day.

Created by

Legal notice

Les interventions pratiquées par La clinique d’endodontie de Gatineau Dr Tom Iwanowski

Une expertise en endodontie

Avant de procéder à un traitement, un diagnostic précis du problème doit être formulé. Fort de 20 ans d’expérience en endodontie, Tom Iwanowski sait qu’un examen clinique détaillé et une consultation poussée avec le client sont d’une grande importance. Les diagnostics sont souvent établis en posant des questions et en écoutant les problèmes de santé d’un patient. Voici les services offerts à la clinique du Dr Iwanowski à Gatineau :


Services

  • Traitement de canal
  • Retraitement de canal
  • Chirurgie
  • Radiographie de contrôle (suivi gratuit)


Le traitement de canal

Le traitement de canal est probablement le traitement dentaire le moins compris et le plus craint de tous.


Premièrement, le traitement de canal est indolore si une anesthésie est pratiquée et si les techniques cliniques appropriées sont pratiquées. Dr Iwanowski s’assure d’effectuer une anesthésie locale profonde et efficace dans le but qu’aucune douleur ne soit ressentie lors du traitement. De plus, il veille à ce que le traitement soit réalisé rapidement et d’une main experte. Personne ne veut rester assis dans le fauteuil d’un dentiste trop longtemps.


Le traitement de canal est très efficace et vous permettra de conserver vos dents naturelles. Néanmoins, comme toute autre procédure médicale ou dentaire, un bon résultat nécessite que le traitement soit effectué correctement.


Qu’est-ce qu’un canal?

À l’intérieur de chaque dent se trouve un espace qui contient la pulpe dentaire (nerf) de la dent. Cet espace est appelé le canal. Le nombre d’espaces ou de canaux varie selon le type de la dent. Habituellement, les palettes ont un ou deux canaux et les dents à l’arrière peuvent en avoir jusqu’à cinq.


Qu’est-ce qu’un nerf dentaire?

Les tissus mous à l’intérieur du canal s’appellent la pulpe dentaire. Ils sont aussi nommés nerfs dentaires. En plus des nerfs, il y a les vaisseaux sanguins et les tissus conjonctifs. Ces nerfs sont essentiels à la formation de la dent. Si ces canaux et la pulpe dentaire sont contaminés par des bactéries contenues dans une salive infectée, une infection et de la douleur peuvent se faire ressentir. Les bactéries peuvent pénétrer dans ces espaces depuis une carie, une obturation endommagée ou une fissure présente dans une dent.


Comment se déroule un traitement de canal?

Un traitement de canal est une procédure pendant laquelle les canaux d’une dent sont nettoyés, désinfectés et scellés. La pulpe dentaire infectée ou endommagée est retirée lors de l’intervention. Ce traitement est très efficace, et si une obturation ou une couronne dentaire adéquate est réalisée par la suite, la dent pourra être « confortable » et fonctionnelle pendant de années.


Pourquoi ai-je besoin de consulter un spécialiste en traitement de canal (endodontiste)?

Bien que le concept de nettoyer, de désinfecter et de sceller les canaux d’une dent puisse paraître simple, l’anatomie interne d’une dent peut s’avérer être très complexe et donc rendre le traitement plus difficile. Dr Iwanowski, endodontiste de profession, a développé les habiletés nécessaires pendant ses nombreuses années de pratique pour travailler sur les cas les plus complexes, et ce, avec une certaine facilité. Pensez à un professionnel qui se spécialise en installation de cloisons sèches. Il est probable qu’avec plusieurs années d’expérience, cette personne devienne très compétente dans son domaine. La plupart des gens qui tentent de faire ce travail à l’occasion, même s’ils sont bien équipés, ne seront sûrement pas capables d’atteindre les mêmes objectifs que le spécialiste.


Qu’est-ce qu’un retraitement de canal?

Le traitement de canal, bien que souvent réussi, peut échouer. En général, un échec signifie que l’infection est toujours présente. Ceci peut être traité par un second traitement de canal.


Habituellement, ce traitement est recommandé si la dent en question est utilisée et si elle peut soutenir une bonne restauration.


Essentiellement, l’ancienne obturation de canal et tout autre tenon radiculaire présent dans la dent sont retirés. Tout défaut du traitement précédant est corrigé et la dent est nettoyée, désinfectée et scellée à nouveau.


Votre dentiste décidera ensuite quelle restauration (obturation ou couronne) est nécessaire selon votre cas.


Qu’est-ce qu’est une chirurgie périapicale (apectomie)

Parfois, il se peut qu’une infection ne puisse être traitée par un retraitement de canal. Dans ce cas, une telle infection peut être traitée par une chirurgie dentaire mineure appelée apectomie. Essentiellement, cela signifie de retirer l’apex, ou le bout de la racine, qui cause l’infection. Habituellement, une obturation rétrograde est appliquée sur le bout de la racine. Cette procédure nécessite une incision des gencives adjacentes à la dent. La guérison est généralement sans histoires et la majorité de gens retourne au travail le lendemain.

Création de

Mention legale